top of page

"What's That Song About?"


I often get asked about the genesis of a particular Duality original song. As a songwriter, I could go on for days about what inspired me to write a particular song a particular way. This is why you should probably think carefully about ever asking me, unless you have nothing to do for a few hours at least. Brevity is not my strongest trait, especially when it comes to the songs I write.

In general, I'd have to say our songs all try to do more than entertain. They are an attempt at a deeper exploration of what makes we humans tick.

And what of the writing process? This is another common question I get. For me, there is no one answer. Songs sometimes come to me in a flash, even in my sleep. "American Chameleon" literally came to me in a dream. I woke up, got a piece of paper and pen, and jotted it down start to finish. "Man, This Is Gonna Be Tough" happened in a similar way, after I attended a funeral for a friend. Sometimes a song is born in a beat, sometimes they are inspired by something I witness or empathy I might have for another human being. Often, they're just an attempt to work something out that I cannot express effectively with words alone.

But let's get back to that "exploration of what makes we humans tick". There is no better example than the song "Duality". Duality is the concept that within all of us are competing forces-good and evil, happy and sad, yin and yang. This conflict is something I've experienced in my own psyche and something I've witnessed in most everyone I know. At some level, we all have good and bad in us. Sure, one is usually more dominant than the other...but they are in constant conflict. This concept has always been fascinating to me.

One day I was clicking through the television channels and stumbled upon some show where people were being exposed by hidden cameras doing truly hideous things. And one story focused on a Chef who was a poster child for Duality. The cameras captured him greeting guests with a smile, seating them and interacting with them in an entirely gregarious and loving way. Then, after the patrons ordered their meal, the kitchen cameras exposed an entirely different man who smiled with glee as he dumped all sorts of inedible stuff into the food he was preparing, including certain ugh...bodily fluids.

Now, this was no bottom rung line cook. This guy was a lauded expert, with reams of professional accolades to his credit. And this is what intrigued me. I asked myself "Do we really KNOW anyone we know? Or does EVERYONE have a bad side?" With this question, the song "Duality" was born. Now you know the story behind the song. The song is written from the Chef's perspective in the first person. The lyrics are below.-M

DUALITY

Sometimes, I’m a model citizen

Do my very best with…every gift I’ve been given, woo I’ve been given

And sometimes, I’m who you want to have your back

I’ll take up the slack and…make sure life’s worth livin’…woo, it’s worth livin’

But sometimes, I’m an arrogant fool

Graduated from the school…of insensitive behavior

And I say, all the things you don’t wanna hear

No dear, don’t want me here

I got you on your knees

Duality

Sometime’s I’ll fight back an avalanche

Do most anything to give you a fair…chance, woo a fair chance

Yeah sometimes, I’m up to nothing but good

‘Cuz I’m the most respected person in your neighborhood…neighborhood

But sometimes, my whole life’s a mess and I’m under house arrest

And ‘cuz you’re watching me…oh, you’re watching me

Because sometimes, you’d rather not be associated with what I’ve created

And now you’re on your knees

Can I get a drumroll please?

Dualiity

GUITAR SOLO

Oh insanity and genius are two sides

Insanity and genius are two sides

Of the same street

Of the same street

Oh what a riddle, I’m…stuck here in the middle

Doesn’t contradiction become me?

Duality


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page